Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy website

VGamingNews Headlines – 12th March 2021

12 March, 2021 - 5:00 pm by
About 6 mins to read

It’s Friday which means it’s time to let your fur down. Today we’re seeing a lot of Bethesda related games hit Xbox Game Pass. We’ve got the next-gen launch of Crash Bandicoot and some more details of Square Enix’s SaGa remaster. Oh and we’re highlighting a game where you can be a coconut. Why don’t you join us?

Today’s highlights include:

  • Microsoft drops huge amount of Bethesda games onto game pass
  • Crash Bandicoot 4 appears on next gen consoles
  • Stunning looking open world epic Tchia is coming along nicely
  • More details on Sqaure’s SaGa Frontier Remastered

Microsoft Drops 20 Bethesda Games Into Game Pass Today

Microsoft are flexing their latest acquisition by casually dropping 20 of Bethesda’s games of Game Pass today. The full list can be found in the image above, but for those who prefer a list can find it here:

  • Dishonored Definitive Edition
  • Dishonored 2 
  • DOOM (1993)
  • DOOM II 
  • DOOM 3 
  • DOOM 64 
  • DOOM Eternal 
  • The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind 
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Special Edition 
  • The Elder Scrolls Online 
  • The Evil Within 
  • Fallout 4 
  • Fallout 76 
  • Fallout: New Vegas 
  • Prey 
  • RAGE 2 
  • Wolfenstein: The New Order 
  • Wolfenstein: The Old Blood 
  • Wolfenstein: Youngblood

That is a lot of video games and we recon if you start now, you’ll probably finish just in time to play Elder Scrolls VI. The eagle-eyed amongst you might have noticed a few missing titles such as DOOM (2016) and The Evil Within 2. They’ll be coming at some point, but probably when the hype dies down a little, or they need another distraction. While hosting a roundtable, Phil Spencer let slip that it might not just be the odd exclusive game coming only to XBox and PC, but rather the games will be going anywhere you can play Xbox Game Pass. While Microsoft aren’t strangers to multiplatform games, you should expect that more often than not, Bethedsa games will be exclusive to team green.

Crash Bandicoot Launches On Next Gen

It’s about time that Crash Bandicoot 4 makes it’s debut on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S & Nintendo Switch today. The Series X & PS5 versions will run in native 4K / 60 FPS, Series S will upscale to 4K. They’ll also incorporate faster loading times compared to the last gen version. The Switch will be 1080p when docked but will be portable. If you have the game on last gen consoles, then you get the lovely upgrades as standard if/when you upgrade to the latest machines. PC gamers have to wait a little bit longer as the release date is set for the 26th March.

Activision are using the release of Crash Bandicoot 4: It’s About Time on the next generation of systems to kick off the 25th anniversary celebrations of the series. We don’t know what form this will take, just yet but we’d guess there will be more Crash video games available by the end of the year.

Be The Coconut in Tchia

Tchia is an open world adventure based on the islands of New Caledonia releasing on Steam.  Developed by Awaceb, you play as Tchia who is on a journey of discovery around her island. Along the way, she discovers powers to jump into any animal or inanimate object such as coconuts or crabs.

The story has been kept under wraps but we’re looking forward to seeing Tchia in action. From the trailer it looks like the usual open world tropes are present, climb, glide, sail, a fully playable ukulele and generally cause your own path of hijinks. However the beautiful art style oozes out of the video and you can tell this game has had a lot of love poured into the development, we can’t help be bowled over by the look of this one. We’ll have more information as soon as we can.

Square Enix Provides More Details On SaGA Frontier Remastered

In our last update today, we’re taking a look at Square Enix’s RPG SaGa Frontier Remastered. Europeans never experienced SaGa Frontier when it released on the original PlayStation, but from all accounts it was a pretty solid entry in the series. For the remaster, Square have added to an already good RPG. For starters they’ve restored an eighth character – Fuse, who had to be cut from the original game.

To unlock Fuse, you have to complete one of the seven character’s stories. This will then unlock chapters of Fuses’ story that interacts with said character. To get the full experience you have to complete the game at least once with all characters. This additional story provides a “what if Fuse was here all along” spin on the game. Luckily weapons and experience carry over so it’s not as if you’re starting again from scratch but it’s still going to be a slog to fully complete the game as Fuse’s story gets harder the more characters you unlock. It’s certainly an interesting take on the game and we can’t wait to get stuck into SaGa Frontier Remastered when it releases for PC, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, iOS & Android on 15th April. Below are screenshots of how the game is shaping up.